Heriot-Watt Mathematics Department History

Please see below for

Jack Carr 1948-2016

Sadly our colleague Jack Carr (pictured below) died in 2016.
A detailed obituary by John Ball, Chris Eilbeck and Robin Knops was published by the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Heads of Department of Mathematics

Robin Knops1971-1983
John Williamson1983-1984
Chris Eilbeck1984-1989
Ken Brown1989-1992
Jack Carr1992-1995
Jim Howie1995-1999
Ken Brown1999-2002
Des Johnston2002-2006
Dugald Duncan2006-2010
Jim Howie2010-2012
Bryan Rynne2012-2014
Bernd Schroers2014-2017
Andy White2018-???

The photograph was taken at Chris Eilbeck's retirement event in September 2010. It shows from left to right: Dugald Duncan, Jack Carr, Jim Howie, Pat Hampton, Chris Eilbeck, Ken Brown, Robin Knops and Des Johnston. Pat Hampton was Secretary to Robin Knops and then Departmental Secretary for many years to 2009.

Annual Reports and Staff Lists

Annual reports and staff lists: 1983-84, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1988-89,
1989-90, 1990-91, 1991-92, 1997, 1998, 1999

Staff lists only: 2001 January, 2002 January, 2003 January, 2004 March, 2005 April, 2010 September, 2011 May

"Historic" Documents